Convention Archive 2016

2016 Exhibition Results

The exhibition attracted 30 entries from members, 25 of which were competitive. The standard of the exhibition continues to rise and even those exhibits that did not qualify for an award were of a high standard.

The Judges were: Richard Emsley; Steve Duffy; Mark Smith; Richard Hughes

In addition to the list of awards given below there were:

5 Non-competitive entries (Howard Williamson, Graham Hervin, Lionel Digby, David Seeney & Graham Carter)

4 Museums & Associations (Royal Navy, Household Cavalry, Great War in Africa Association & Herefordshire Light Infantry Museum)

OMRS Convention Exhibition Award Winners

Gold – 9

Open Class

James Kemp – Service in the Royal Dockyards

Nick Tucker – The Royal Navy Afloat, 1914-1920 – The Services of One Family Name

Stephen Lewis – Pro Finlandia – Best First Time Entry

Michael Mockridge – The Regimental History of the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers and Greys)

Alex Balm – War and Speed – Best in Show

Colin Hole – Miniature Mishaps

Research Class

Howard Williamson – Study of the Great War Gallantry Gazettes

Mark Collins – Long Service in the Welsh Regiment

Chris Bate – The Lost Military Medal Citations of the Inter War Period 1919-1939

Silver – 8

Open Class

Garry Farmer – Bolton Special Constabulary in WWI and WWII

Mel Siddons –The 4th Nottinghamshire Militia in the Boer War

Andy Pattison – In the Eye of the Storm – a Day of Gallantry on the Western Front

Christopher B. Hill – East, West & Central Africa Medal for the Slave Wars 1890-1898 – Members’ Choice Award

Jonathan Smith – Badge for a Knight

R John I Scott – The Cadet Forces Medal – RAF Recipients

Research Class

Wayne Ratcliffe – Berkshire Yeomanry

Chris Bacon – Mounts’ Bay – 28 May 1941

Bronze – 4

Open Class

Mark Relf – A New Theme

Martin Harrison – The Three COs

Lionel Digby – Medals – 1st and 2nd Lifeguards Gallantry

Research Class

Joseph Hardman – Crossing Borders – Ostvolk Award